RSS Feed

NEW KITS AVAILABLE…

THANK YOU FOR YOUR WONDERFUL WISHES AND COMMENTS ON MY FIRST ANNIVERSARY!!!! What a wonderful community this is! I am so glad I am a hooker (hmmm now that DOES need to be read IN CONTEXT!)

My dad is 87 – about a month and a half ago he decided to check to see if the roof of his shed was rotten by climbing onto it! YUP IT WAS ROTTEN!!! He fell through it and landed on his knees breaking his right knee in a couple of places then dragged himself across the street to the neighbours – noone was home so instead of calling 911 off he goes in his truck to get his glasses repaired as he ALSO broke them in the fall. ONLY AFTER DRIVING AROUND TOWN WITH A BROKEN KNEE did he take himself to the hospital!!!! He has been in a brace for weeks now and is miserable – this is a man who at 87 still has grass cutting contracts and snowblowing contracts. He shops every day so being home and not able to get out and about is driving him AND my mom crazy. To save their marriage!!! Gord and I went to visit. Had a good time with both of them, ate too much (my dad is an amazing cook) and YEAHHHHH got to visit 3 antique shops! HOWEVER, I have discovered that the tidier, cleaner and more organized an antique or salvage shop is – the higher the prices! So although we had fun I only bought 2 small items and hmmm one biggg dough box! Now IT was a reallllly good price! Has a wonderful flat surface for a hooked rug but does need a set of legs.

I have received a few patterns by Star Rug Company which I am in the process of making into kits – many of these are fairly small patterns and I think they would be great beginner kits. I am going to try to kit them as close to the colours and wools indicated on the photo that accompanies the pattern(on linen) so if you are interested please contact me for size and a price for the kit. These unfortunately are not eligible for the 20% anniversary discount:

Mr. Rapscallion

Halloween Stroll

Mathilda

ATHA Pumpkin

Mr. Snowman

6 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday to hookedonthelake. I look each morning to see if there is a new posting. When there is my day begins with a pleasant feeling of joy. Will look forward to reading you throughout the coming year.

    Reply
  2. Good luck to your dad and best wishes for a quick recovery. No doubt his attitude will see him through. I wonder if there is any irony in following the tale of his injury with Mr. Rapscallion and his walking stick!

    Reply
  3. Hi Loretta

    Best wishes to your Dad ! I know he will recover fast as he has lots to do !!

    OK you are so naughty to tempt us soooo much ! Love these new kits – of COURSE – so let me know prices and sizes as I LOVE LOVE LOVE them all !!

    jane Rogers

    Reply
  4. HELLO LORETTA I FINALLY CAN USE THIS — MACHINE AGAIN <, ME OR MACHINE? I CAUGHT UP ON ALL YOUR VERY ENTERTAINING NEWS. SORRY TO HEAR OF YOUR DAD'S TROUBLES AND WISH YOU ALL WELL. ALSO CONGRATS ON ALL YOUR HARD WORK OVER THE PAST YEAR AND I'M GLAD TO BE ABLE TO SHARE IN IT! WHEN YOU HAVE A CHANCE, WILL YOU PLEASE SEND INFO ON THE NEW HALLOWEEN KITS, THEY OF COURSE MATCH THE MR.IGGY PATTERN , LOVE IT! HOPE TO SEE YOU AT FIBERFEST CHEERS LESLIE KOENIG (THE CAPITAL LETTERS? I NEVER CLAIMED TO BE COMPUTER SAVY!)—–I

    Reply
    • Hi Leslie Ohhhh computers – the bane of our existence but soooooo necessary these days! Dad actually turns out to be fine – they took off the brace on friday and said no rehab, no surgery – just exercise! hmmmm or is it that Dad was not wearing his hearing aide again and heard what he WANTED to hear!!!!! Oh well, he is Swiss/German and stubborn and hard headed and no matter what they told him he would do what he wanted anyway so…
      The kits so far:
      Atha Punkin – 11 x 13 – $80.00
      Mr. Rapscallion and Mathilda – 7 x 13 – $60.00
      Mr. Snow – 13.5 x 20 – $140.00
      and YES they work beautifully with Mr. Iggy which was a free pattern in an old issue of RHM wasn’t it?
      Yup will be at Fiberfest in September in Almonte and Quiltco in the Glebe Community Center in September as well so hope to see you there…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

