RSS Feed

ON OUR WAY TO IAWAH!!!..

not IOWA 🙂 … This weekend is our annual retreat weekend at camp – yup hookers go to camp! It is a weekend we look forward to every fall for inspiration and companionship. We work, create, inspire and share alllll the burdens and wonderful high points in our lives. I love my Iawah weekends and this year with a lot of parental issues and hmmm other problems I thought I might not be able to go but schedules have been changed and I can can can! So I am packing my bags – nothing fancy in the way of clothing – pj’s all day! well I call them my comfy pants – all my friends call them my pj pants! But who wants to hook or punch in fancy pants! All my unfinished projects are making their way into the bag(s – as I have many unfinished projects) along with lamp, watch, bedding. This fall we are sleeping on real mattresses – not the rubber ones! Yeah.  My bedding does not slip and slide as much! So so so excited.

But it is also a very sad time for me as I lost a dear friend this week. A lady who inspired many people to hook and create; a lady who had a wry sense of humour and made us all laugh; a lady we will all miss but who left us doing something she loved. Ruby you have left a hole that cannot be filled – and Gord is still looking for those nickels!

Yesterday was workshop day here at the house – I taught mini punch needle to a group of 9 fun ladies who did extremely well and Wendo taught “gefelte fish” to a group of 8. What a fun day – thank you ladies for making the trip and making the day such fun.

And now a few rugs to share…

Jill finished her Folk Art sheep (one of my Karla Gerard patterns)…

Marylo finished her Mr. Winter (one of my Karen Thompson patterns)…

and Alice finished her Canola Tom Thompson Tree – I love the way this was finished at the bottom and top…

6 responses »

  1. Hi Loretta
    I’m so sorry to read about the passing of your friend Ruby.

    Reply
  2. Hi Loretta,
    So sorry for the loss of your friend, Ruby. Enjoy camp and hook up a storm for her. Heading into thumb reconstruction in two weeks, so my hooking days are on hold. Hope to be back in the new year with a stronger, happier new body part!

    Reply
  3. Love the tree. Beth

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  4. What is “gefelte fish”? Kathy Lorsung

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  5. We had so much fun yesterday at the workshop – punching, felting, laughter and food! Thank you Loretta and Wendo. Have fun at camp Loretta. So sorry about the loss of your friend. Hugs.

    Reply
  6. So sorry about the loss of your friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

