RSS Feed

FUN STUFF…

Susan hooks BIGGGGG rugs and is prolific!!! A month ago she sent me this picture of a wonderful antique rug and asked if I could draw it out – 55 x 60 something inches.  This one was not beyond me as it is so wonderfully primitive that it could be hand drawn easily. So the antique rug…
and Susan’s start (in real life it is actually very toned down).  Today we pulled the colours for the background…
The previous antique rug. This one was a bit more difficult to draw out as I had to figure out all the geometrics and proportions as Susan’s is just a tad smaller (not much though)…
and Susan’s version which I think looks just as old and wonderful as the original and used up a lotttttt of leftover worms…
My latest punch needle piece mounted to an old nail box which I dry brushed red, antiqued and waxed and buffed – his eyes are tiny delica beads which in real life glitter and look great…and another mounted to a long nail box…(adaptation of one of the Teresa Kogut patterns I carry – I needed mine narrower and longer to fit the box)… 

8 responses »

  1. lanebabe@aol.com

    So beautiful. I especially love the second antique rug she copies and hooked. Do you offer this pattern???? I would love to hook it.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Sheryl

    Reply
  2. They are all amazing!

    Reply
  3. Linda Henderson

    The combined talent and creativity of you and Susan are impressive….and inspirational. Love the punch needle folk art. Must…..get…..busy……!!

    Reply
  4. Hi Loretta,

    Thanks so much for teaching the punch needle workshop in your lovely home this past Monday. I learned a lot & thoroughly enjoyed myself. The company was wonderful, and the food yummy. Thanks to Gord, too, for being a good Man Friday! I look forward to attending a future workshop, should their be one.

    Cheers, Denise Allan

    >

    Reply
  5. Nancy Crapper

    WOW!!!! Prolific is right! All these ambitious people. Such great pics & inspiration! Thank you!!!!! nancy

    Sent from Nancy’s iPad

    >

    Reply
  6. Do you sell punch needles for embroidery floss. If not do you know where we can get them.

    On Sat, Jul 15, 2017 at 1:22 PM, Hooked On The Lake wrote:

    > hookedonthelake posted: “Susan hooks BIGGGGG rugs and is prolific!!! A > month ago she sent me this picture of a wonderful antique rug and asked if > I could draw it out – 55 x 60 something inches. This one was not beyond me > as it is so wonderfully primitive that it could be hand dr” >

    Reply
  7. what wonderful rugs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

