RSS Feed

MAUDIE…

Yesterday I went to see the movie, Maudie, which tells the poignant story of Maud Lewis, a folk artist from Nova Scotia. The movie was wonderful – it did not overly romanticize the lives of Maud and Everett – at times it was raw and gut wrenching. Maud fought a battle with juvenile rheumatoid arthritis and later in her life was severely crippled – to the point where holding a paintbrush was painful, yet she managed to inject humour and joy into every one of her paintings which reflected the world around her – AS SHE SAW IT! If you have an opportunity to see this lovely movie do so – and take a lot of kleenex!

A number of years ago I took not one but TWO classes with Pam Langdon who taught about Maud and how to hook her paintings. Patterns are available from Highland Heart Hookery in Halifax. Here are a few of my hooked Maud’s.

Oh and if you see the movie – don’t leave (like everyone else) when the credits start – there is a lovely surprise injected in the credits that make it worth staying to the end!

If you have hooked a Maud send me a picture – I would love to post it.

And a few rugs by others…

Julie’s canola moose…

Tara’s rug for her doggies – Tara just started hooking a few months ago…  Nancy’s table runner of the birds who surround her…

8 responses »

  1. Lila Dressler

    Pictures didn’t come through…….😫

    Lila D North Port, FL

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  2. Lila Dressler

    OOOOPPPPS, HERE THEY ARE……

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  3. Bev. Vanderschoor

    What wool cut was used in the family riding in the buggy.

    Reply
  4. Do you think the movie is on Netflix, is it new? Would love to see it. I also keep forgetting to mention your Canolas idea. You started it, didn’t you? I remember you showing us when we. Visited last August you were just getting started. Are people making their own designs?

    Reply
  5. Sure hope the movie comes to the US. Such a touching story. Loved the book.

    Reply
  6. Her paintings are full of joy. My friend, ex- student and Hooking mentor Karen Lediard said she met you in Coburg. Hopefully I will get to Ottawa next year. Beth

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  7. I love your Maud rugs!!!

    Reply
  8. Do you know if anyone might be doing a workshop on how to hook a Lewis? I would love to take one if one is available.

    I hope the movie goes into wider circulation. The times around here are too limited.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

