RSS Feed

BADEN HOOKIN…

Got home this afternoon from vending at the K-W Rughooking guild’s annual hookin in Baden yesterday. It was a fun day with lots of hookers in attendance and I believe 10!!! amazing vendors! And of course, although I was a vendor, I DID manage to slip off every so often to pick up a few things I had to have!!!!

So, Gord took a few pix of the lovely show and tell. He tried as much as possible to include the actual rughooker in the photo – unfortunately I don’t know the names of everyone who showed a rug or the designers of all of the rugs… But I am sure you will enjoy them…. and if you have realllllllly good eyes you  might even be able to make out the designer’s name on the rugs in progress…

This one I do know as it is one of my Karla Gerard patterns entitled 3 Blooms – beautifully hooked!!!…img_1439

img_1440

img_1443

img_1444

I know this is a Sharon Smith pattern being hooked by Trish…img_1450

img_1451

img_1452

img_1454

I believe this piece was started a week earlier in a class with Carol Shewan in London… (pattern is available from Carol)img_1455

img_1456

img_1457

img_1458

img_1459

img_1460

And another of the Karla Gerard patterns I sell entitled Abstract Village…img_1461

img_1462

What a fun fun rug…img_1464

img_1468

A lot of mixed media going on in this rug…img_1469

img_1470

img_1471

img_1472

This piece was based on a stained glass window and was first punched (miniature to the right) and then hooked (on the left)…img_1473

I am so sorry that this rug is blurry – it was truly amazing…img_1475

Look closely – verrrrrry closely – and you can see HOPE spelled out in this rug (start at the upper left green H, gold O, blue P and red E!  Soooooo interesting…
img_1477

img_1478

This lovely rug is going on the floor in a museum and is done entirely(well almost) in recycled wools by various children and adults…img_1480

A lovely Maud Lewis rug…img_1481

The three rugs here are again from the Weathervane class taught by Pam…img_1483

img_1485

Now the story behind this is really interesting.  Tracy is hooking one rug for each year of her grandmother’s life each based on an event from her life (gosh I hope I got that right)… Made me start thinking of doing something as a memory rug of my parents’ journey from Europe to the wilds of western Canada where they shared their home (well miners shack really) with bears and snakes; where they had to chop the ice off the pond to get water to wash and cook and drink; where mom accidentally burned the shack down – yup, all in the 1950’s not 1850’s!!!img_1487

img_1490

img_1491

and another version of Abstract Village (available through my online store 🙂 …img_1492

5 responses »

  1. Thank you Loretta,
    The pics are fabulous. The talent of these hookers is truly inspiring.!

    Reply
  2. Linda Miller-Nesbitt

    Love it when you share your findings to inspire, Loretta !! I hope to become good enough to hook some of your Karla Gerard patterns…..I love her style.

    *Do you happen to know more about the tulips from Baden ? *

    I wonder if Carol Shewan’s workshop in London was for beginners……I didn’t see it on her website . I am the gal who had counted on attending her Ottawa one and was so disappointed that seven of us were not enough.

    *If you hear of beginner workshops in Ontario please let me know* and also if you learn more about the tulips.

    I’m sure I’ll be visiting your store to get some wool cut or at least ordering it. Sorry I couldn’t make the trip on Thursday in the rain to the vendor’s sale. All good things, Linda

    On Sun, Nov 6, 2016 at 7:16 PM, Hooked On The Lake wrote:

    > hookedonthelake posted: “Got home this afternoon from vending at the K-W > Rughooking guild’s annual hookin in Baden yesterday. It was a fun day with > lots of hookers in attendance and I believe 10!!! amazing vendors! And of > course, although I was a vendor, I DID manage to slip off ” >

    Reply
  3. Thanks for sending, great pictures, good to see you there. Regards Shirley Julian

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the pictures. It is great and humbling to see what others are doing. Such talent and diverse interests.

    Reply
  5. These are wonderful pics! I was in a Trent class with Kathy in June. She designed her Sunflower. I was so pleased to see its progress. It is a small world. Thanks for your inspiring pictures and comments!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

