RSS Feed

SPEAKING OF ANIMALS…

Finally Mr. Turtle is done – his shell is hooked and he has socks and crinkly skin on his head. His tail is a long wide strip wrapped around the wire armature. For a while he was eyeless as I lost the perfect vintage round ball buttons I had dug out of my button jar butttt found then when I did a clean up! (maybe I need to do that more often?). He was fun fun fun – methinks he needs a buddy?

HPIM6581

TWIST is coming up fast so I have been dyeing wool, drawing patterns, making kits and trying to get in a bit of hooking in the breaks! If you have never been to TWIST and love fibre try to come. It is a not to be missed event! You can find more info about directions, hours and vendors and classes on their website.

With fall fast approaching (oh gosh is it the second week of August already?), I have decided to hold a workshop here at the studio on making sunflowers. I have never been able to actually grow a sunflower – well not true exactly. I did have SOME sunflowers in the gardens over the years but the squirrels always seemed to think that I was growing them a treat! I would discover the sunflower, gnawed off the stem missing a few bites and lying on the ground! So I decided years ago to MAKE sunflowers that squirrels would not enjoy! and would love to have some of you join me in making a few more! Fill a bucket! or a vase! or attach them to rusty bed springs. The workshop will take place on September 16. So that we have time to finish one off (well could make a few more if everyone is a fast hooker!) I would like to start at 10 and go till about 3. That gives us break time to go down to the dock and maybe out for a quick boat ride! Bring your lunch – goodies will be provided along with coffee and tea. Cost of the workshop is 25.00 plus whatever supplies you need – I will have prefinished linen ready and wool and fibres available. Let me know if you are interested – I can accommodate about 10 maximum if we sit in the living room and lakeside porch…

HPIM4821
HPIM6583

9 responses »

  1. Omg, I am so jealous. For years I have been wanting to learn how to make primitive sunflowers. I wish you could offer a class online!! If only I lived closer to you!!!! Susan

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  2. Kelly.Mckinnon@shell.com

    Hi Loretta, can you put me down for two spots….one for me and one for Ingrid for the sunflowers? Thanks, Kelly

    Kelly McKinnon

    Plant Manager
    Brockville Lubricants Plant
    Shell Canada Limited
    250 Laurier Blvd.
    Brockville, Ontario
    K6V 5V7

    Telephone: 613-498-5738
    Email: Kelly.McKinnon@shell.com

    “TOMORROW-our prize for working safely”

    Reply
  3. I love the turtle!!!! Wish I could come to one of your events sometime!

    Reply
  4. I love your turtle. He does need a companion

    Reply
  5. I will be there, Loretta. Thanks so much.

    Reply
  6. Love the turtle!
    cathy

    Reply
  7. Saundra Porter

    Love the turtle and the sunflowers are delightul!

    Reply
  8. Saundra Porter

    Oops….delightful!

    Reply
  9. Hi Loretta Do you have room for 1 person? I would like to make sunflowers. I live in Kingston now how easy is it to find you? Thanks Jane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

