RSS Feed

MYSTERY SOLVED…

That lovely cat rug’s owner, designer and hooker has been uncovered!  Peg Irish! Peg was one of the featured artists at the last Green Mountain show that I was able to get to. Thanks to Lois for the information. To see more of Peg’s beautiful rugs check out http://pegsrugs.com/index.html.

A rug made out of OMG Crimpolene!!!! For those of you who remember the 60’s and early 70’s this is probably a familiar word but for those tooooo young!!!! crimpolene was a non iron able man made fabric made I think of nylon or some awful fibre – well I guess it was a NON fibre.  I remember my uniform for my part time job at Towers (yup another name many of you from Ontario will be familiar with) – yellow crimpolene! I looked like a hot banana! and by hot I mean this stuff did not breathe so that in the summer you would suffer heat stroke if you went out into the sun! Non iron MEANT non iron – I remember pressing the grid from the iron into the back side of my uniform and having to wear a long sweater as the grid mark STAYED permanently in the fabric.  All this to say that hmmm, it makes a perfect rughooking alternative fibre if you want to wash your rug on a regular basis. This lovely rug Trish bought in Newfoundland and recently redid the edge with a show binding – it has a permanent place in her bathroom:

Image 12

and a few pix of my local wild life lining up for food!!!

There were more (about 7 total) deer but the sound of the iPad taking the photo scared them off… These two (click on the photo to enlarge it) I guess were determined to eat – iPad or not…

Image 3

Bluejays – before the peanuts – after the peanuts were thrown out there were about 20 in the tree and peanuts lasted all of about 2 minutes…


Image 2

3 responses »

  1. that crimpolene rug feels really lovely underfoot. Love it.

    Reply
  2. Thank you for solving the mystery!!! People should say who the “hooker” is!! I also love the crimpoline rug!

    Reply
  3. I love you photos (and the rugs, of course!) . I hope the deer aren’t eating all of your lovely bushes etc that you have around your house. I’ll never forget seeing a horned owl just outside your driveway on the road. I must have gazed at it for many minutes. Only where you are do you see such wonderful creatures. Betty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

