RSS Feed

GLORIOUS RUGS TO BRIGHTEN YOUR DAY…

One of the most exciting books about rughooking that I have read recently was Bea Brock’s Scrappy Hooked Rugs.  I love the way Bea combines bits and pieces of related colours in an area so that there is wonderful visual texture.  The rugs draw you in – you want to analyze each one to see how Bea achieved her look. Even though I am not a particularly bright person (oops should I qualify that – bright COLOURS) I love these rugs – they speak to me. Recently a friend of mine, Evelyn (who usually does amazing huge oriental rugs in a number 3 cut) asked if I could provide her with some more brights to add to her stash as she was doing 2 of Bea’s rugs. Well Evelyn is a fast hooker!!!! and here are pix of her rugs – I think Bea would be proud!(you can find these patterns on Bea’s website HillCountryRugworks).

Posies in a Row…Image

Summerwind…Image 1

6 responses »

  1. Zowie… these are amazing and yes, colourful! What a great way to start the New Year. Congrats to Evelyn…

    Reply
  2. How wonderful ..the colours are Marvelous._Posies in a row have the feeling of Jack Bush painting.. his work is now on at the Nat Gallery in Ottawa.
    What sizes are the pieces?
    thanks for sharing.
    alexandra

    Reply
  3. I love these rugs Loretta. I’m a real colour gal too. I have a large oriental I haven’t gotten to, bright purples and oranges. I’m sure Evelyn would approve. I’ve gotten into spinning wool and that’s taking all my time these days. I enjoy getting your emails and keeping up on rughooking though…
    Krystyne

    Krystyne King

    >

    Reply
  4. Hi, I understand that you were asking about the ME Critchlow picnic.  The person you need to ask is Connie Wylie –  consteliza@execulink.com  She’s the person doing the picnic. Connie Lorch From: Hooked On The Lake To: 2teach@rogers.com Sent: Saturday, January 24, 2015 9:47 AM Subject: [New post] GLORIOUS RUGS TO BRIGHTEN YOUR DAY… #yiv2069038139 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2069038139 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2069038139 a.yiv2069038139primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2069038139 a.yiv2069038139primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2069038139 a.yiv2069038139primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2069038139 a.yiv2069038139primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2069038139 WordPress.com | hookedonthelake posted: “One of the most exciting books about rughooking that I have read recently was Bea Brock’s Scrappy Hooked Rugs.  I love the way Bea combines bits and pieces of related colours in an area so that there is wonderful visual texture.  The rugs draw you in – yo” | |

    Reply
  5. Bea utiful!

    Reply
  6. sarahb@kingston.net

    Adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

