RSS Feed

A LITTLE CHRISTMAS MAGIC…

Christmas will be a little quieter and a little sadder for my family this year. But in the hopes of making things a bit more normal for all of us I decided to put up my, as my dad would have called it, “ugly” primitive Charlie Brown Christmas tree. I love my tree – it is sparse and yup a little ugly but full of wonderful hand made ornaments that I have collected and have received over the years from friends. It has place of pride in my living room and the minute I put it up I feel the spirit of Christmas descend on my home. So up went the wreaths (bought a new fresh one and then realized I had bought a beautiful primitive one last year that was hmmm indestructible so now we have 2). Some Christmas music and hmmm maybe I should bake. Wellllllll that was a disastrous thought – I have not baked in so long I forgot what to do. Ahhhh Scottish shortbread – so deadly delicious and so easy! I thought! Threw the flour, lumpy brown sugar and a big chunk of butter and some salt into the bowl and started beating. Wellllllll it was a WHITE CHRISTMAS in my kitchen! Yup, I forgot – you are supposed to beat the butter first and add the sugar and THEN add the flour – not mix them all together at the same time. So things went a little crumbly – what to do. Welllll butter can fix all manner of errors so in went a bit more butter – hmmmm now the batter was too soft so add more flour. Well I then had a rather lumpy mass (or is that mess) in the bowl but it really tasted good :-). So since it would no longer roll out I made balls, squashed them down on the cookie sheet and baked. The house smelled wonderful! and the cookies actually (although they are not pretty) taste delicious. Then a great big batch of molasses ginger cookies and I was done. Or maybe that is DONE IN!. So a few pix to share … Lisa’s wonderful sheep rug Image Although I could not be part of our annual Christmas party and gift and ornie exchange there was a surprise package full of these amazing ornies for my tree… Image 1 Anne made this rug which is a pattern from Cathy at Orange Sink…Image Ruby’s beautiful scrappy rug done with dirties…Image 3 and her little tiny scrappy rug done with snippets of dirties…Image 2and my wonky tree festooned with hand made ornies by my amazingly talented friends… HPIM5903 HPIM5902 HPIM5904 AND SO FROM OUR HOUSE TO YOURS – HAPPY HOLIDAYS. MAY YOU SPEND WONDERFUL MOMENTS WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS…  HPIM4074(one of the 4 season patterns I carry by designer Joni Black)

15 responses »

  1. Well, Loretta, Sorry about your white kitchen, but I can go you one better. Last week I had the brilliant notion of cooking my Christmas pudding in the pressure cooker. Why not, thought I? I got busy and put all the delilcious ingredients together and put it in my metal pudding mold. I placed the lid on and lowered it into the simmering water in the pressure cooker. Locked on the PC lid and made my lunch. Pudding is cooking away and I am enjoying my tea and sandwich when suddenly (drumroll here), there was a massive explosion that nearly stuck me to the ceiling! The bid lid rose up and hit the ceiing before dropping a couple of inches from my chair. The gasket wound up down the hallway along with the uncovered mold, now bent and twisted. The mold lid landed in the sink, and the pudding landed on the ceiling, the stove, the floor, the walls, the tops of the cupboards, behind the clock, behind the calendar, across the table and past the chair, taking some paint with it. It is all over my big china cabinet glass doors. It sprinkled my hair and clothes. After I released my grip on the ceiling light fixture my first thought was just to kill myself now, rather than face that cleanup. My heart started beating again and I reached down deep and gather all my resources and started cleaning. I spent about 4 hours non stop and when I did stop I was completely knackered. Only then did I wish I had taken some pictures. Today I have to take the glass out of my china cabinet and clean and clean some more. so there, it`s all relative. I bet if you had the choice, you`d pick your mess over mine. LOL and Merry, Merry Christmas. Linda on the Rock & LOA

    Reply
    • Wow Linda, glad to hear that you came out of that pudding explosion with just a clean up. I hope you are looking back on that with a smile as it certainly put one on my face as I was reading your story. Merry Christmas.

      Reply
  2. Hi Loretta – where is the picture of the cookies! Love the tree and ornaments!
    Again, sorry for you loss – may fond memories warm your heart and lift your spirits!
    Let me know if there is a date for teaching at the shop in the spring!
    Merry Christmas!
    Linda

    Reply
  3. Yum – I can smell those cookies all the way here! Hoping you have more moments of joy than sadness this holiday season Loretta. Love all those gorgeous hand-made ornaments!
    Wishing everyone peace and love,
    Valerie

    Reply
  4. Thanks for your message. May your grief turn to joyful memories as you celebrate Christmas. I love your tree. busy making the custard for the trifle. The cake is done for the trifle that is. Now I have to clean up one holy mess in my kitchen before going to the dentist.

    May the Blessings of Christmastide abound in your life throughout the coming year.

    Reply
  5. Good morning, I am so sorry that christmas is sadder this year but hope that you will be able to have some relaxing quiet time with happy memories of good times. Wishing you a healthy and better new year ahead, Barb

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  6. Merry Christmas to you and your family. All of the best for the new year.

    Reply
  7. Hi Laura!
    I was sorry to read that you have had a loss in your family. Christmas is a joyous time but when someone you love is missing, it is a very sad time. You seem to be handling this very well. I love getting your blogs and seeing all of the amazing hooked rugs. I will be hooking again when I get back.
    I don’t like to say “have a Merry Christmas” but have as happy a one as you can. All the best, Betty

    Reply
  8. Sorry for your loss Loretta, however the tree looks very interesting and not sad.
    Enjoyed reading about Linda’s pudding explosion. What stories we could all tell. Enjoy the cookies!
    Merry Christmas.

    Reply
  9. Dear Loretta I am so sorry to hear of your loss,I certainly know how happy memories can get you through the times ahead. I also would like to say how much I have enjoyed your stories and photos again this year. Looking forward to more when you have the time to share with everyone, so Merry Christmas and a peaceful New Year! Cheers Leslie Koeng

    Reply
  10. Dearest Loretta, I have been thinking of you a lot lately. We missed you at the annual Christmas party. Glad to see that you enjoyed the ornies. They look great on your tree. Hopefully being home will help heal the wound of loss.

    Reply
  11. Did I miss something, Loretta?

    Love, Julie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  12. Loretta,
    Hope this Christmas season will lift your spirits a touch. 2014 was, I believe, a seriously crappy year all ’round. Hope that 2015 will life us all to a new level.

    Linda…I laughed out loud about your pudding. Am I a bad person? 🙂

    Reply
  13. Thanks for your Christmas posting Loretta. Always good to see what you’re up to, even if it is a mess.

    Merry Christmas and I’ll look forward to dropping into your Kingston time one of these days.

    All the best,

    Bill

    Reply
  14. Linda Low, you have to be a candidate for ‘the most’ of all kitchen messes. We all think we’re number one whether we want to be or not…….but pudding will never be the same after reading of your ‘travails’! Loretta’s, your tree is magnificent with true studies of ‘objects d’arts’ from special people from your many lives.
    Pat who has had a wonderful Christms Eve with fellow RVers in Arizona.
    Merry Christmas to you, Gord and all the family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

