RSS Feed

SAUDER WAS WONDERFUL!!!

Took us 11 hours – many pit stops en route but no stopping to go junkin ALTHOUGH we did pass an antique store that looked pretty promising. But we were on a mission so NOOOO junkin!!!!

The venue for the show is lovely – a small, heritage museum with many different artisans including a broom maker, spinner, weaver, tinsmith, blacksmith etc. housed in 1800’s buildings moved to the site. The rug show was fabulous and I took lots of pix and over the next few days will try to post them all (before I leave for TWIST). As much as I could I tried to include in the picture who the piece was hooked and designed by but sometimes it just did not work. I really don’t know who most of the designers or hookers are so bear with me…

This design is by Nola Heidebreider(boy I hope I spelled that right Nola)…

HPIM5635

Part of the Azeri(story rugs)display (article was in a recent issue of Rughooking Magazine)…HPIM5636

HPIM5637

HPIM5638

HPIM5639

HPIM5640

Lovely old antique rug on display…
HPIM5641

Part of the Grenfell exhibit…
HPIM5642

HPIM5643

HPIM5644

Paula Laverty who is an expert on Grenfells and mounted the display…HPIM5645

This one was actually hooked with brin (threads of burlap)…HPIM5646

HPIM5647

HPIM5648

Oh My I loved these fish…HPIM5649

HPIM5653

HPIM5655

More to come tomorrow!!!!…

 

5 responses »

  1. The Grenfell rugs are lovely. They are very much like the rugs on display at the Grenfell museum in St. Anthony. The Inuit motifs are simple but oh so beautiful.

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much for sharing the photos for those of us who couldn’t make it. You rock! Janet Angotti

    Reply
  3. Wonderful to see the rug show since I wasn’t able to attend. Am looking forward to the next showing. Thanks.

    Saundra

    Reply
  4. Thank you so much for sharing all the pictures of Sauder. I was unable to go this year.
    Sheila

    Reply
  5. GUARNIERI, WENDY

    Hi Loretta,

    Thank you for your wonderful blog. I save them and look at them often when I have time.

    When you have a minute would you please let me know what cut was used for the rugs Part of Azer. I find them quite wonderful and and quite detailed and I am curious as to the size cut of the wool. Do they use wool (yarn)?

    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

