RSS Feed

CELTIC DESIGNS…

A number of people have asked me about the designs that I used for my Celtic pieces. When I first started looking for Celtic rughooking patterns I found a few but nothing that was really what I was looking for – something designed for WIDE CUT. So I searched for clipart that could be used as inspiration and one day discovered a wonderful website. This site offers free clipart in both colour and black and white versions that you can enlarge to the size you need. I used this site for a number of pieces – I printed off, made the changes I needed to and then enlarged and transferred the designs onto linen. I wanted to use 8.5 cut and found the designs were simple enough or could be simplified to accommodate this size cut. Check out http://www.aon-celtic.com/free/cfreewarecliparts.html – there are dozens of different designs. Here are some of the pieces I have hooked that were inspired by designs from this website:

HPIM5050

HPIM4518

HPIM4504

HPIM4423I added different borders and corner medallions customizing the designs.

7 responses »

  1. Love your Celtic work! Thank you for guiding us to these designs .

    Reply
  2. Lisa Giroux-Belanger

    Happy New Year Loretta, I love these celtic designs. Where do you get your patters for primitive and celtic patterns? I’ve just finished up my first rug (which was your shaggy sheep) and now I’m looking for a pattern to make myself for a stool. What do you suggest? I love the primitive rugs and would like to stay with this type of rug. It’s pouring rain here in Ottawa with a flash freeze warning – a great day to hook and knit.Take care,Lisa

    Date: Mon, 6 Jan 2014 13:14:41 +0000 To: lisa.giroux@hotmail.com

    Reply
  3. Loretta… these are simply wonderful and the paternal Celtic genes I have are very happy…especially love the last photo of the Celtic design with birds. Beautiful and the colour is perfect. Looks aged.

    Reply
  4. On your previous advice, I went to the site and spent a long time fascinated by all the possibilities and trying to figure out what you had done. Your choice and use of colour is magnificent! This website has endless possibilities and thanks for sharing it.

    Reply
  5. Lisa Giroux-Belanger

    Hi Loretta, Just checked out the Celtic website you suggested – it’s great. Would you recommend any good books for getting into the Primitive style of hooking? Thanks againLisa

    Date: Mon, 6 Jan 2014 13:14:41 +0000 To: lisa.giroux@hotmail.com

    Reply
  6. beautiful.

    Reply
  7. Happy New Year Loretta. Thank you for the attached. It will be something I look forward to trying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

