RSS Feed

A LITTLE CATCHING UP…

Today is grim and dull and snowy with freezing rain in the forecast for the next few days. I love winter – but not days like this! When you live wayyyyyy back in the bush and your propane tank is low and the roads are snowy and freezing rain is in the forecast wellllll… stress builds up reallllly quickly. Thank goodness our propane delivery man just came about an hour ago – yeahhhh I can turn up the thermostat and stop wearing layers!

I must admit lately I have not been in much of a hooking mood – well to be honest I have not been in much of a mood for anything! But dad is home from a repeat hospital stay of a week, propane tank is full, roads are cleared and we are leaving tomorrow to spend Christmas with my parents! So today I have been prepping a piece to take along and finish off while we are gone. This is based on a much reduced and simplified version of one of the new Karla Gerard patterns I now have in stock. I wanted something small and colourful to make up for the dreariness of the weather. So this is the picture of Karla’s pattern:Image 3

and this is my partially hooked version:

HPIM5044

And HERE IS MY LATEST AMAZING FIND! From a little but wonderful antique store in Watertown (Paddock Art & Antiques). A wonderful vintage storage unit that perfectly fits my Prochem dye containers (well it will once I clean them up a bit!). I am not sure what it held but it has little stencilled colours under each opening. It needed a bit of repairing but for 22.00 holy cow was I going to leave it behind – nope!!!!! Now I just have to find a spot for it! Well maybe clean it up a bit as well. The back is open but has those thin dowels running down the back so that the containers will not slide out so it could be hung or set on a counter.
HPIM5045And a sweet rug to share by Alexandra:

Image 3Since I probably will not be able to post again before the holidays I wish you and all your loved ones a Merry Christmas. May all your wishes come true…

16 responses »

  1. Love your antique find—perfect storage for your dye jars. Lucky you. I know what you mean about getting in a funk and not doing anything. Do to our weather we didn’t have any hooking meeting in December, So til we meet again in Jan it’s been a dry 2 months. You and your family have a wonderful Christmas and may your New Year be filled with wonderful hooking days.

    Reply
  2. Liz from Seeley's Bay

    Hey Loretta, I hate to tell you, but you are almost done your Karla rug…getting the basic shapes in place means you are more or less finished. I think you need to start another, BIGGER project, for the trip to K-W. How about another ‘ode to Wolfe Lake’ in Lor-colours?

    all the best for the holidays to you, Gord, the cats, the deer, the mice, etc.

    Reply
  3. I’m feeling the same as you with regards to hooking Loretta. Not much getting done here but I do have hopes to hook some now that my holidays have started. Glad to hear that your dad is out of the hospital and that you have the chance to spend Christmas with your parents. Merry Christmas to you and all your family. Give hugs to Gord and Diana for me.

    Reply
  4. Merry Christmas Loretta!!! Have a wonderful merry, joy filled day!!

    Reply
  5. Merry Christmas, Loretta and Gord, Hope you can relax and yes get some hooking done. Have a safe trip.

    Reply
  6. Loretta,
    You certainly lucked in with this storage unit! It is beautiful.
    Wishing you, Gord and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
    Keep on smiling, life is good after all.

    Reply
  7. Wishing you and Gord a safe journey. May your family be blessed with a very Merry Christmas and a Happy Healthy Prosperous New Year.

    Love the cabinet. You find the coolest stuff.

    Reply
  8. Loretta, Hope you have a blessed Christmas! Remember we are never given more than we can bear. Kathy

    Reply
  9. Hi Loretta,
    I want to thank you for putting together my sheep kit for me. The colors are perfect and it’s going to look great in our living room. I enjoyed meeting you and your husband, and all your cats and the deer! Have a great Christmas!
    Krystyne King

    Reply
  10. Not so much done with hooking here either. Busy with volunteering and silly season. Wayne and I wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas and all the best in the New Year.

    Lou

    Reply
  11. wishing you a peaceful (and now, warm) holiday season loretta. i have extended my stay in florida until end of feb. and since i flew i didn’t take hooking supplies at all but am crocheting so still get to work with wool and colour, both comforting things. alana

    Reply
  12. May you and all your kin have a much deserved, blessed Christmastime and may the New Year be filled with the kind of moments that make good memories.

    Reply
  13. And a very merry Christmas to you Loretta!

    Sent from my iPod

    Reply
  14. Best wishes and safe travels. I will be on the search for rug hooking supplies in the Sarasota area!

    Reply
  15. Loretta, Good news about your beloved Da…
    thank you for posting my rug..will let you know how my God mama receives it.
    safe travels,best wishes
    alexandra

    Reply
  16. Wishing you and yours the loveliest of Christmases and safe travels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

