RSS Feed

IN TIMES OF TROUBLE…

we need our rughooking and our friends.  Rughooking is my therapy and friends are my support. Well to thank all my rughooking friends for their support and help during these the last few months I am offering this rughooking kit as a gift. This was my little hooking therapy over the last few days (not very big I know but kept my mind occupied in between the multitude of phone calls trying to get support for my parents). So the name of everyone who comments on this blog post will go into a bucket (lets hope it is a fulllllll bucket) and the winner (ONE – HAD TO CLARIFY THAT BECAUSE GORD THOUGHT I WAS GIVING EVERYONE A KIT HAHA!!!!) will be drawn on Thursday. The kit (10 inch wide on primitive linen with all the wool cut 8.5 and a show binding included) will then be mailed out on Friday – just in time for you to hook it up and add your own candle for the holidays (oh and I should say that the antique grater does NOT go with the kit :-)). The wool is actually married and a bit older looking than shown in the picture…

HPIM4965On Wednesday morning I will once again be at Stitch by Stitch on Gardiner Road in Kingston with cutters and wool in hand and then next Saturday December 7 I will be vending at the Nick of Time Christmas Show in Perth. This is a lovely little Christmas show held every year at McMartin House – it runs from 10 – 4 on Saturday only and is a great opportunity to shop for some of those last minute Christmas gifts and decorations – for others or for yourself!!!

75 responses »

  1. Dear Loretta…when I think of all the hours you have spent slaving with that grater in your kitchen, making all those meals, I get a bit weepy 😉 Of course I would love to win this kit…it’s a beautiful little piece!

    Reply
  2. Loretta, Changes in life require so many adjustments for everyone. Hope all the calls on behalf of your parents were fruitful! Even without the grater and a kit for everyone I’m in. Just seeing your mat is a treat.

    Reply
  3. Hi Loretta, Hopefully things are looking brighter for your family now. I think it is a beautiful rug. Thanks, Lou

    Reply
  4. Love the piece,Loretta, and I know the trials of being in a different city from parents who need support. Trying to set things up is not easy. Very best wishes to you and yours and I’ll hopefully see you fairly early in the new year. Barb

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
  5. Hi Loretta,
    I’m glad we finally had the opportunity to meet this past Friday. My thoughts are with you and yours.

    Reply
  6. Wishing the best for you and your parents, Loretta. This little kit giveaway is so generous of you! I was searching around for something simple to hook as
    a Christmas gift for a friend; this little kit would be just perfect! I love your blog too.
    Claire Quinn

    Reply
  7. What would we do without rug hooking? I do enjoy your posts and send positive energy your way.

    Reply
  8. This is your hooking friend way down south look so forward to your blogs and all your wonderful woods

    Reply
  9. Of course I meant all your wonderful words From South Georgia to Canada Kathy Callahan

    Reply
  10. Look forward to your blogs. Love all the info and pictures of rugs. Sounds as if you have a great network of rug hookers.

    Reply
  11. Loretta, Love reading your blog. It makes me smile every time!! Would love to win this kit. Thanks for the opportunity!!

    hugs
    cyndi

    Reply
  12. I love reading your blog as well, always puts a smile on my face. I don’t usually win things but here goes trying again. Merry Christmas, Loretta and Gord. Speaking of “buckets” I will figure something out to get one to you. :-)))

    Reply
  13. Love the very primitive look of this little rug kit. Happy holidays!

    Reply
  14. Hi Loretta! I know exactly what you mean about rug hooking being good therapy. It has helped me through a very trying time and continues to offer great joy in being able to create and share with friends. I’m so glad it means the same to you. Take real good care and keep the faith!
    Darlene

    Reply
  15. I love this and don’t know why you couldn’t do it for everyone! LOL

    Reply
  16. Marjorie Duizer

    I thoroughly enjoy reading your “musings”. Rug hooking is also good therapy for me.

    Reply
  17. It was a pleasure to get meet you and see your lovely home at the studio tour. I wish you well. Monique Damus

    Reply
  18. Love your blog. Hope things get better for you,

    Reply
  19. Hope things are looking positive for your parents. I know from experience what a stressful stage of life this is.
    But you’re such a generous soul to offer this gift to your friends.
    Don’t forget to take care of yourself too.

    Reply
  20. We hookers know what a true friendship can be developed and the support and love we can recieve from our fellow hookers. You Loretta have been a true friend, since the day we met! So glad I have “taken up trade”.

    Reply
  21. I once visited your lovely home on the lake. Rug hooking opens up such a wonderful community. I am enriched by every one I meet associated with this most joyous past time.
    All the best,
    Jenny

    Reply
  22. Being around you hooker types has made my wife creative and happy. I am glad to be included from time to time (and I enjoy your blog). Donna says she would be happy to have any of your kits and you know what makes Donna happy …

    Reply
  23. Love it! The grater too. Thanks for giving us a chance to win this kit. I understand the taking care of parents, am doing it for my mom. (sometimes very stressful). Wish your shows were closer, but there not–sigh! Hope you sell out.

    Reply
  24. This could be finished by Christmas. Thanks for offering the kit. Hope I am lucky, and if not I know the person who wins it will be grateful. I am grateful !

    Reply
  25. Hi Loretta Hope you get your parents settled around soon. I have been thinking about you. The kit is lovely and of course I would love to be the winner. Sylvia

    Reply
  26. Wow! Just love to win this wonderful kit. My thoughts are with you and your parents as you know what I’m going through too with my parents. Isn’t life grand! Thank you so much for thinking of your hooking buddies as always.

    Reply
  27. I know exactly what you mean by hooking therapy! I find I can get lost in the piece I am hooking and my troubles get much more manageable! Wishing you well Loretta.

    Reply
  28. Good news travels fast! Thanks for the chance to win a kit ….. even though your latest care package just arrived in the mail!!!

    Reply
  29. Hope you and your parents can soon see yourselves comfortably settled with few adjustments.
    These are not easy times for any of you. Keep occupied and keep well…………..

    Reply
  30. I have never meant you or your family, but the hearts and feelings are universal and I just want to say that you are thought of and prayed for. Blessings to you, thanks for your generosity. Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  31. Greetings rug hooking sisters. Just got home from hospital this morning and trying to acclimatize to my surroundings as well as eat some nourishing food. Surgery was a success I am told, feel like I have been hit by a bus but glad to have this behind me. I think the biggest challenge will be not rug hooking for 6 weeks. Ohhhhh that seems like such a long time.

    I hope your parents are doing well with their challenges Loretta. Hope you and Gord are able to settle down somewhat. Think about you every day.

    Blessings to each and everyone as you hook up those lovely Christmas themed rugs.

    Trish

    Reply
  32. Hi Loretta-
    Working with one’s hands soothes the heart. You have so much to be thankful for even though times right now seem difficult. Hug your parents tight as they are a true blessing. Those who create touch the lives of those around them. Thoughts and prayers as you take this journey. May you be comforted by all these postings. Pam

    Reply
  33. Hi Loretta,.have been in your place with my mom.a few years ago…..be sure you take care of your self….stress can do a lot of harm to your health……wishing and gord the best…..beautiful kit!!

    Reply
  34. Elizabeth Worrall

    Dear Loretta
    If only you REALLY knew how much this blog and your friendship and encouragement mean to ALL of us. hooking and you have certainly helped me with stress this past year. I already have my gift…YOU. Enjoy some tranquil time these holidays. I am just finishing up my hit and miss border on the Magdalena cats. I’ll have to drop by soon for a New Year’s Project.

    Reply
  35. Loretta… you are always so giving and sharing, and your time devoted to family is another gift that makes sharing time and energy a blessing. Make sure that you make time for yourself to enjoy the season and the fun with friends, and very best wishes as you go through all of the special “daughter” tasks that taking care of your parents requires. Love the candle mat and it might just get me through my month with family far away.
    Bethany

    Reply
  36. I would love to win…is it available in a three cut? Ha ha ha! Ho ho ho! No no no!

    Reply
  37. To you who has given me so much, my prayers and best wishes. Bonnie

    Reply
  38. Love, Love, Love all of your hooking patterns! I agree that hooking is our therapy! We hookers have broad shoulders!! Love, Linda

    Reply
  39. So typical of you – life gives you lemons and you give us rugs. Any kit from you is a treat and winning it would be wonderful but just know that I’m thinking of you and when I count my blessings, you’re on the list. Thanks for all the joy and love you share!

    Reply
  40. I am sorry to read of your trials with aging parents…totally a different challenge than the others that have come before, I know. Hope you have a restful holiday season, best wishes, Deborah

    Reply
  41. Through your trials and tribulations, your true, kind,generous self shines thru. You truly are an inspiration to us all. Thank you. Your candle mat is beautiful. Perfect cut LOL

    Reply
  42. Nancy Sheffield

    Hello Loretta, Be sure to take good care of yourself while you are caring for your parents. They need you to be well and so do all your friends and fellow hookers. The possibility of winning a kit is fun. Thanks. Nancy

    Reply
  43. Claire Westendorp

    Hi Loretta:

    So glad to have met you a few months ago at Stitch by Stitch! I purchased one of your kits as well as a used hoop and have been hooking very happily ever since. I hope that your father is well on the road to recovery….he is so fortunate that there is a caring daughter in the picture. Hope to see you again on Wednesday! Tthe winner of the candle mat kit will surely be pleased to receive this kind gift! Best wishes to everyone who leaves you a comment. Claire

    Reply
  44. Thank you for the opportunity to win this lovely kit. Love the colours. I enjoy reading your blog and wish I was able to attend the shows you are at. Best wishes for the caring of your parents.

    Reply
  45. I enjoy your interesting blog…..the hooked pieces are beautiful and I enjoy hearing about your quests for collectables and how you will repurpose them.

    Reply
  46. Sweet Loretta,
    Wishing you better days ahead and thanking you for all the generosity you have shown me and everyone else that knows you. You are always such an inspiration to us all!! Thank you.
    Cindy

    Reply
  47. AMAZING as always!! So enjoy this blog. You are my rug hooking hero. 🙂

    Reply
  48. Wow!! I knew you’d have a lot of friends. We all love Loretta Originals. Take care and don’t sweat the small stuff.

    Reply
  49. Caring for my aging mother taught me the importance of taking the time to look after myself
    too. Please continue to use your rug hooking ‘therapy’. Your work is amazing and an inspiration.

    Reply
  50. Wow…love the giveaway. Thanks for the chance to win it!

    Reply
  51. Karen massingham

    Hope your holiday season goes well.nice piece.

    Reply
  52. Hi Loretta
    Hope things get easier soon and all the best.
    Cindy

    Reply
  53. Brian Hetherington

    Hooked

    Reply
  54. Hi Loretta,
    Like Elizabeth was saying, we already have our gift. You keep us going and encourage all the time.You keep us together. Of course I would not cry if I won your kit.
    Hope your parents find health and security together.

    Loise

    Reply
  55. Hope all goes well with your parents. Not an easy time—- I know! Joanna Sirois

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
  56. What adorable little mat !!! Would look splendid on my step stool 🙂 My fingers are crossed !

    Reply
  57. The grater looks great on the mat. Are you sure ….?
    I am just glad that you mom and dad are doing better. Maybe things will settle down for you now.

    Reply
  58. What a wonderful little rug-hooking project and a very generous gesture on your part. Warm wishes for you, your parents and your family.

    Reply
  59. Hi Loretta,

    Been sending you lots of good wishes about your parents. I’m impressed that you’ve been able to keep posting with so much on your mind.

    Feel like you’re with me in spirit every time I sit down to hook. You’ve given me so much inspiration and fun.

    Know just who would be the recipient of the finished mat, if I won it, but the main pleasure is in thinking of you.

    Reply
  60. As a former member of the sandwich generation, my heart is with you. The transition from child to parent is hard. My favourite saying was I was so tired being the baloney in the baloney sandwich! Crafts of all sorts have been my therapy through the years, hope it continues to help your spirit.

    Reply
  61. Patricia Mongeon

    Hi Loretta
    You are an inspiration when it comes to rug hooking, you give so much to others that is why you have so many friends.Hope your parents are doing well.
    Patricia Mongeon

    Reply
  62. I enjoy reading your blog all the time. This is very sweet of you to offer to all. I hope that the festive season brings you peace and many blessings. 🙂

    Reply
  63. I have been following our blog since I discovered rug hooking while on a trip to the Maritimes in July. Hope to stop in to see you on Wednesday. I may have some questions! I have been using a hoop but am thinking about graduating to a lap frame-looks like it would be more comfortable.

    Reply
  64. Thinking of you as you care for your parents – it may seem a little more difficult as we are entering the holiday season.
    May your spirits be uplifted with family and friends!

    I always enjoy your blog and the wonderful “musings” that seem to take place in your neck of the woods. 🙂

    Reply
  65. Loretta, without you I might not have pulled through the last few trying years without a trip to the loony bin!. I cherish your friendship even if I have to pay Gord in dessert to see you…LOL! Your therapy a few weeks back has worked wonders for me. Reach out to your hooking friends when you feel too overwhelmed.

    Reply
  66. Hi Lor: Wow….64 responses ahead of mine. That says it all re. friendships. It is interesting how many fellow rug hookers have parental issues….is that coincidental or is that an indication of our age???? Would love, love, love to win candle mat but if I don’t someone else will love to win it. Keep strong and miss you. Luv….me

    Reply
  67. Thank you for your generosity in offering the free kit and for sharing your love of rug hooking. I love rug hooking too and enjoy your blog. Rug hooking is a great hobby- especially in the cold, wet, winter months down here in Beaverton, Oregon. And rug hookers are great people!

    Reply
  68. Kelly.Mckinnon@shell.com

    Good luck with finding appropriate support for your parents Loretta. I know from experience it’s a challenge but keep pushing…the squeaky wheel theory does work. Make sure you take care of yourself too…All the best, Kelly

    Kelly McKinnon

    Production Manager
    Brockville Lubricants Plant
    Shell Canada Limited
    250 Laurier Blvd.
    Brockville, Ontario
    K6V 5V7

    Telephone: 613-498-5738
    Email: Kelly.McKinnon@shell.com

    “TOMORROW-our prize for working safely”

    Reply
  69. Hi Loretta,
    You have offered so much to us all. I love the kit and always enjoy your blog.
    I hope that things improve for your family.
    Dona

    Reply
  70. I have always enjoyed reading your blog..rug hooking is also very much my therapy..always hold onto the positive.

    Reply
  71. Hi Lor…my very first response to a blog! Hope all is well with you and your family. Luv your pieces and your creativity.

    Reply
  72. Hi Loretta, I would love to have one of your kits. Always read your blog. Thank you, Karen Mutter

    Reply
  73. Hi Loretta – The rug kit you are giving away is just lovely. I laughed about the grater, but I think I have one of my own – same vintage. I am having fun working on a recent design I picked up from you at the Woodstock Fleece Festival. You were the last stop and the best one of my day! Linda

    Reply
  74. Thank you, Loretta, for not just gifting one of your loyal readers with a wonderful kit, but also for being there with us. So many thngs you share with us are part of the fabric of our life.(sorry for the commercial). Your kit would be a wonderful way to ease the time I am out of commission with my upcoming hip repacement surgery. So throw my name in the hat or old stoneware bowl. Thanks, Trisha in Tallahassee.

    Reply
  75. Dear Loretta,
    You have no idea how inspiring you are to me. You are such a giving person. I wish you all the best with your parents. As for your little kit…and still you keep giving!!! Lots of luv, Cheryl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

