RSS Feed

AND MOREEEE PIX…

Even though my camera kept telling me that the batteries were too low to take pix I continued to snap anyway – would turn off the camera and turn it back on and snap away so here are a few more…

HPIM4566

HPIM4565

HPIM4564

HPIM4563

HPIM4562

HPIM4561

HPIM4560

HPIM4559

HPIM4558

HPIM4557

HPIM4556

HPIM4554

HPIM4553

HPIM4551

HPIM4550

HPIM4540

Yesterday I dyed up some of that beautiful blue that I used in the sky of my Red Bird adaptation. Here is the formula:

8/16 of Cushings Turquoise Blue

1/16 of Cushings Silver Grey

1/16 of Magic Carpet Blue

I did this formula over 11 eighths of wool – natural, oatmeal and textures…

7 responses »

  1. I am truly speechless. Thanks for taking the time to share.

    Reply
  2. There’s no end to the beauty of the rugs at that show! I really appreciate your posts.
    Oh my, everything about the first mat in this post!!! A masterpiece.

    Reply
  3. The detail and the reflection of Canadian history in the first mat on this post is incredible. What a work of art and display of talent. The facial expressions have been totally captured . Thanks for the ongoing posts Loretta.

    Reply
  4. Lawlor.Patricia

    Where do people get their inspirations. These are just so beautiful. They take my breath away.

    Patricia Lawlor
    NHQ – Integration Program Management | AC – Direction générale de la gestion du programme d’intégration
    Citizenship and Immigration Canada | Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada
    180 Kent Street Ottawa ON K1A 1L1 | 180 rue Kent Ottawa ON K1A 1L1
    Office | Bureau KENT 6-106
    Patricia.Lawlor@cic.gc.ca
    Telephone | Téléphone 613-991-2392
    Government of Canada | Gouvernement du Canada

    Reply
  5. Hi Loretta: Beautiful rugs, wish I had been able to go to the annual. Love the rug of the cat curled up in the middle with mice running around it. Is this a combination of braded and hooked? It looks so interesting. Do you know who the artist was? It must have been fun to make. Have you done one? I continue to look for and enjoy your blogging.

    Sandi Howard

    On Wed, May 29, 2013 at 6:37 AM, Hooked On The Lake wrote:

    > ** > hookedonthelake posted: “Even though my camera kept telling me that the > batteries were too low to take pix I continued to snap anyway – would turn > off the camera and turn it back on and snap away so here are a few more… > “

    Reply
  6. Trish Johnson

    Thanks for including my rug, “Working on the Railroad” and thanks for all the kind comments. It is adapted from a photo my father took about 1938, when he worked his first summer job for Canadian National Raiways He would have been 18. The map shows the rough location of the photo, near Bowland’s Bay on Lake Wahnapitae, Ontario.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

