RSS Feed

GARDENS CALL…

Started this last Sunday but before I actually posted we were called away with a family emergency…back now so hmmmm maybe I should publish it…

As I wandered around the yard yesterday I noticed that some of my lovely green shoots seemed to be missing their tops! Cropped down no doubt by our dear deer! Oh well, not to worry – they will grow back. A little ragged perhaps but…

Yesterday we decided to go to the Maple Festival in Perth which is about a  45 minute drive. It was spitting and cold and all I could think about was being curled up in a nice warm living room with a cuppa coffee and my book or hooking! But off we went. Spent about 2 hours looking at the OPP mobile unit (that would have been Gord!) and checking out all the street vendors (that would have been me!!!). By then I was so cold we had to go for coffee and lunch just to warm up. Then another few hours of walking the main street and hmmm I was ready to come home. All my plans to go junking afterwards went down the tube. Even though it had warmed up the thought of spending a few more hours visiting rust just did not appeal to me.

So today more gardening and maybe some dyeing and hmmm who knows – maybe I will draw out a new pattern and get hooking!

I did actually finish a piece this week – I have a footstool made by a friend of mine (Twig Artist Veronica Chenier) that has always called for a hooked topper. I had thought years ago that I would do a little primitive pictorial but realised that the footstool had so much going on that it just needed a little geometric. So inspired by a rug I had seen that seemed to use up scraps I started pulling out my leftover worms with good intentions of using only precut wool – well we alllll know where that leads! To CUTTING MORE WOOL because I did not have the amounts or colours I needed. Finally finished the little mat and attached it (after sanding down the surface of the footstool and restaining it darker). Now of course I have a lot of worms again! ready for another scrappy project!

HPIM4463

A few days ago Meryl dropped by to draw out her new project and brought along pix of her Deanne Fitzpatrick rug. It is wonderful…
Image

And Deb shared a picture of her dog (Tibetan Terrier) inspired chair pad (don’t you just want to run your fingers through his hair!)…
Image 2

So hmmm maybe the gardens should not call so often!!!! I realllllly love winter… 🙂

4 responses »

  1. Your stool topper is the perfect design. The worms seem to turn into tiny twigs. Meryl’s DF rug is truly inspiring and Deb’s chair pad is a darling. The inspiration never ends. As for those hot summer days ahead, I have reserved the time between 11am and 2pm to rug hook.

    Reply
  2. Love the stool! I want one! Kathy

    Reply
  3. Oh I love that stool! Wonderful. Meryl’s rug – love the color and whimsy in DF’s design. She did an awesome job. And yes… love that little dog in the shade of a lovely flower.

    Reply
  4. Wonderful mats ( always!) Love your honesty about junking, rusty metal magnetism, and truth told about cutting more worms for using up preexisting worms! There are others out here that work those enriching routes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

