RSS Feed

CONTINUING SPRING…

Well once I started I was on a roll – decided I needed a new bright but slightly dirty mustard yellow. I started out with 1/4 tsp Cushings Bronze and 1/4 tsp Cushings Buttercup over 9/8 (I know that my wool quantities are a bit wierd but it all depends on what pile of wool is sitting on the floor or stashed in the shower stall). The bronze that was used both in the Dirty Spring Green and the new yellow should tie the two colours together beautifully. I gleaned this through using Karen Kahle’s Vintage Colours dye book in which Karen does numerous colours that all work beautifully together because she repeats certain dyes within the formulas. For instance, most of her red formulas  are based on the same 4 – 5 dyes but in different proportions. Then one or 2 of the colours she uses in the reds are carried through to the greens etc. What you end up with is a wonderfully cohesive group of wools that work well together in the same rug. Well… I ended up with a French’s mustard yellow (no dirty water left in the dye pot!) which was a bit brighter than I wanted (but if you are looking for French’s mustard yellow this is the formula!). So, hmmm, needed to tone this down a bit, dirty it up a bit – so I mixed up MC blue violet (1/32) and filled the cup up to the 2 cup point with boiling water and then gradually added the new mixture to the pot – mixing up the wool in the water and abrashing with some of the formula. I now have a wonderful old Basil Pesto Mustard (I love mustards – Gord and I collect all sorts of funky mustards – Basil Pesto is by Stonewall Kitchen and is theeeeee best mustard ever) – a kind of old greeny yellow colour. Love it with the Dirty Spring Green. So what is next? Thinking daffodils – dirty daffodils of course! Maybe a nice dirty bronzey brown for the ground!(PS – in real life the colours are a bit more toned down – flash distorts colours or should I not be blaming it on the camera 🙂

HPIM4333

And the dyeing must have worked because sky was blue (well bluer!) – until the snow started!

3 responses »

  1. Creative and positive. What a wonderful way to see one’s backyard as it truly is. Nature at it’s best and to be able to bring out that beauty in strips of wool… What dyes would you use to produce the colour of the tawny coats of the deer? And yes, the end product could be a little dirty to complement the dirty everything else LOL. Loretta, you are so inspiring that I am almost wanting to try my hand at dyeing. Thank you for sharing ‘beauty’.

    Reply
  2. These colours are a must have for my colour palette. They are simply beautiful

    Reply
  3. Oh wow Loretta. The colors are amazing. Perfect and dirty. Really nice!!!!

    Cyndi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

