RSS Feed

NEW PUNKIN…

Who would design and hook a pumpkin mat in winter – well, look no further! I am ahead of the game this year – makes NO sense to hook this in the fall when I actually want to USE it. So, since I had a request for a new small pumpkin mat I hooked this little one this morning. The mat is 12 x 12 and will be available as a kit. Don’t you love that amazing black background – so very primitive and old looking.

HPIM4287

I just posted a few new classes on my events page:

– Primitive Dye Class – April 24

– Finishing Class – April 10

– Beginner Class – April 26

(these will all be held here at the studio – and yesssss roads will be driveable! no ice! and hopefully lovely porch weather!)

On February 27 I will be at Stitch by Stitch in Kingston along with cutters and more wool and patterns. Drop in if you have a question or problem or need supplies or hmmm just want to sit and hook!

I have a wonderful sister, Di, who lives with us a good part of the year. Di has Down’s syndrome and her approach to life sometimes just amazes me. She simplifies things down to the basics – this morning the deer were out in full force. I heard her trying to count them all up – one, two, three, four, three, one, two… all of a sudden she must have decided that was just way too complex and she blurted out “TOO MANY DEER”. How wonderful – why get alllllll stressed out about things that are complex – simplify simplify simplify! So that made me think of teaching a class on primitive colour planning – no talking about analagous and split complementaries (which after years and years of having these buzz words banged into my head I stillllll don’t understand) – my approach will be to let the wool do the work for you! Colour plan using those wonderful plaids we all (hopefully) have in our stash. So one of these days look for that class on the events list and lets simplify something that makes everyone break out in a sweat!

12 responses »

  1. Where do I look for more info in your classes.? No luck on cutters she didn’t want to budge on prices oh well.

    Reply
  2. LOVE the pumpkin Loretta!!!

    Reply
  3. looks like your primitive color planning is what I need. Please let me know. Irene

    Reply
  4. Too many deer!!! OMG… so CUTE! 🙂

    Love the pumpkin mat! Pumpkins are always in season (in my book, anyways… lol)

    Reply
  5. Marlene Leonardo

    Hi! I am interested in the the pumpkin kit. How much will it be? Thank you, Marlene

    From: Hooked On The Lake >To: stitcher2gomars@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, February 11, 2013 9:59 AM >Subject: [New post] NEW PUNKIN… > >hookedonthelake posted: “Who would design and hook a pumpkin mat in winter – well, look no further! I am ahead of the game this year – makes NO sense to hook this in the fall when I actually want to USE it. So, since I had a request for a new small pumpkin mat I hooked this littl” >

    Reply
    • Hi Marlene The punkin kit is made up it is 12 x 12 on primitive linen with all the wool precut in 8.5 (nice wide cut). The kit is 77.00 and also includes a show binding strip. If you dont want the showbinding I can take off 5.00 (i.e. if you plan to whip it instead)… thanks…Loretta

      Reply
  6. Well!
    It’s Pumpkin season here, also. One crawled out from behind a chair this morning. Mine is waiting to be mounted on a garden stick. Love your new one………grand colours and background!

    Reply
  7. Love the pumpkin Loretta! Just letting you know I am coming along we’ll with “squirrelly” aka squirrel and nuts – the colour planning drives me “nuts” heh heh little pun there – – so I would be interested if you ever do offer a class in colour planning for prims!
    Will send pic when squirrelly is done! My friends and I still want to come visit when weather is better – maybe a drive to Kingston on the 27th will be in order too!
    Happy hooking
    Brenda G.

    Reply
  8. Would really be interested in a primitive colour planning class…as you already know, colour planning is not a strong point of mine! I will watch for it…

    Reply
  9. I am with Di! Simplify!

    Reply
  10. Great pumpkin! Lorretta, enjoyed hearing about your sister’s count on the deer. Much to learn from a different point of view.

    Reply
  11. I was just saying today that what i need to learn is colour planning a piece. You clearly read my mind. This is the kind of learning I really need,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

