RSS Feed

WONDERFUL GIFT…

The other day my friend Pat gave me a wonderful book (along with scrumptious chocolate croissants that were designated as Gord’s dessert!). The book is Rugs for My Red Cape by Edyth O’Neill. What an amazing gift and even more amazing was the coincidence that a number of years ago when Gord and I went to San Antonio for a convention we HAD to detour to Fredericksburg for a few days and I got to meet Edyth. This was the highlight of my trip (well that and the 3 hour shopping spree after we got off our plane at Country Gatherings just north of San Antonio!). Not only did I visit her workshop but she took me on a tour of her red cape. The house was originally built in Connecticut in the late 1700’s and Edyth and her husband Jack dismantled and transported and rebuilt the house in Fredericksburg Texas in the early 1990’s. It was true to the original era i.e decor, furniture etc. and just an amazing accomplishment. I so enjoyed my visit with Edyth – got to see her rugs in place, talk hooking and history and hmmm buy patterns!!! So so tragically, a few years later Edyth and Jack lost their beautiful home to a fire. I have always loved Edyth’s patterns and have hooked a few of them and after perusing this wonderful book I think I might have to buy  a few more patterns! Here are a couple of my Edyth O’Neill rugs – you can see and buy her patterns through the Woolley Fox.

One response »

  1. I love her patterns. I just bought the bottom one that you show and hope to hook that some day – on my long list of to do rugs LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

