RSS Feed

MALLORYTOWN SHOW…

Well busy week again – company and classes and visitors to the shop and hooking the Church! The rug is now about 3/4 finished – had to do a bit of tweaking to blend the sky from the really light into the deeper tones where the fir trees are but I think I am happy with it finally so on to the biggggg maple tree! Oh I just LOVEEEE!!! (not) doing trees!!!! That is what bogged me down on my latest Maud but I will tackle it a bit at a time. Years ago there was an article in RHM by I believe Eric Sandberg when he did the castle rug. He said he would break down the original painting or photo and mask off an area and turn it sideways or upside down. This would trick his mind into hooking what he saw as opposed to what he imagined it to be and this is somewhat similar to what I have been doing (if I got that wrong slap my fingers!). I have been blocking off areas and turning the original on its side and hooking. It is a bit wierd because I keep wanting to see the whole thing but seems to be working out reasonably well. Still don’t think I am comfortable doing this style and probably won’t do anything like this again for a LONGGGG time! but it has been intriguing and hmmm pretty gratifying!

So thought I would share some pix with you. This is a show Alana is in in Kingston – check out her amazing pieces which are a combination of mosaic glass and rughooking:

And this is Linda’s dollar store vinyl coated bag all hooked up(so do I hear the sound of feet running to the dollar stores to snap up all these bags!!!):

This Saturday I am taking part in the show in Mallorytown – should be fun. I have attached details for everyone who can hopefully make it:

Welcome to the
2012 Mallorytown Village Fair!
…an old-fashioned weekend for the whole family…
Saturday, August 25 -9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Location: Mallory Coach House & Gardens- 1523 County Rd. #2
and Mallorytown Community Centre-76 County Rd. #5
Free Admission – Donations to the Food Bank Encouraged

·         Over 30 Local Artists, Artisans, and Vendors
·         Exhibits and  Heritage Demonstrations
·         Competitions – Baking, Flowers and Crafts
·         Live Music – Gravel Roads and County Rd. 5
      ·         Free Children’s Games and Activities
·         4H Rabbit Show
·         Free Horse and Wagon Rides
·         Vintage Motorcycle Display
·         Refreshments and BBQ lunch

(for more information contact John or Molly at jmsorensen@xplornet.com, 613-659-3874)

One response »

  1. Thanks loretta, you are wonderfully supportive! Alana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

