RSS Feed

SOOOOO UGLY…

It’s not often that someone would be happy being told their rug is UGLY but when Donna told me on Sunday that my little “Jack” rug was SO UGLY HE WAS CUTE I was thrilled. Not that my goal is to make ugly rugs (although hmmm I do think there are a few that have not turned out wonderful!) but I did not want a cutesy punkin guy – so ugly was better! I needed a small quick project for the show on Saturday – something that would not make me itch in the heat and humidity – and this little guy was perfect. Hooked him up during the day (actually in about 2 hours at which point I started pulling out and rehooking just so I would have something to do) and stuffed him yesterday morning. Found a great stick on the way up from the dock and he is done. This will be part of my Hooking for the Holidays classes along with a few other punkins (as well as a number of other projects). I love the idea of a whole antique bowl or box full of hooked and stuffed punkins (these will not ROT or attract the racoons!).

I am so excited – going back to Arizona in January to take another rughooking class but with Sharon Smith this time (http://www.offthehookwoolrugs.com/designer.htm). Sharon has a brighter eclectic style which is very very different from my own dirty more primitive style and I am really looking forward to learning how she achieves this look.

My new hooking friend, Kathy Clark (of Briarwood Folk Art fame) will be taking the class as well so we are going to push each other to try this LESS primitive hooking style. Kathy is tentatively coming to Canada October of 2013 to teach her amazing old antique inspired style of rughooking. I will be posting more information about this class as soon as dates, location and cost are set. So 2013 promises to be a year of fun rug hooking workshops with 2 amazing hookers. Today it is off to finish the mosaic glass window with Cindy Laneville and the girls – yeahhhhh…

Leave a Reply

