RSS Feed

PRIMITIVE DYE CLASS…

I have two spots left in the primitive dye class on November 21 – see events for details.  In addition a friend of mine has decided to give up dyeing and has the following items for sale:

dye spoons – 10.00 each for  various sizes

white dye pans not pots – 5.00 each

Shipping would have to be added to the above prices.

Well the Spinners and Weavers Guild show in Ottawa was wonderful – great weather, greatttttt vendors and lots of visitors.  I COULD NOT restrain myself and bought more wonderful hand spun and dyed yarns.  These I will work into some small landscapes and textured pieces that I hope to work on this week. Met up with friends I have not seen in years!

Also finally got to meet with Joni Black from Montreal – Joni is a hooker, puncher and designer with wonderful primitive patterns.  We have been corresponding for a while now but finally got to meet. Check out  her website at www.fullywoolyprimitives.com.

While I was in Sutton a few weeks ago I met up with a former student, Lise, who has gone on to do wonderful rugs in yarns. Lise sent me pictures of some of her rugs which I am sharing here.  I think it is so important that rughookers understand that you can use all sorts of fibers to hook. I love wool fabric – love the feel, smell, texture of it butttt there are other less expensive and more readily available fibers – yarns, nylons, polar fleece, tshirts and just plain old recycled clothing. Rughooking can be as expensive or inexpensive as you want it to be and the fiber you use will not be the deciding factor in whether your rug is fabulous or not! These are some of Lise’s beautiful rugs:

One final note – this weekend the big rugshow in Vermont starts – Saturday at Shelburne Museum.  If you have never been this is an opportunity not to be missed – probably over 400 amazing rugs will be on display.  Bring your camera and extra batteries!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

