WONDERFUL WEATHER… AND ON MY WAY TO SCOTLAND …

For the last week or 2 I have been dyeing up a storm in anticipation of Fibrefest coming up in Almonte this weekend, September 13 -14. This is always a wonderful show – lots of vendors and demos and fun displays. If you are in the area or close by try to make it to this show.

The day after Fibrefest we leave for Scotland.  And the day after we return we are off to the Cataraqui Guild of Needle Arts Show in Kingston! Who planned this I ask? Must have been Gord!!!! Don’t think he looked at my agenda before he booked the flight! But I have to admit, I am finally getting excited! Sheep, wool, haggis, oatcakes, castles, sheep, sheep and amazing scenery oh and hmmm a bit of rain in the forecast – well make that a lot of rain! I think we may be growing mushrooms by the time we make it home but we have our “brollies” packed, 2 pairs of shoes and 2 jackets so we should survive.

Thought I would share a couple of rugs by friends since I myself have not done much!!!…

Ruby’s rug and the cat who thinks it might like wool…Image

Image 1

Barb’s finished Canadian Magdalena from our fabulous class with Kathy Clark of Briarwood Folkart…(hmmm seems to me I recognize that Porky!)Image

Danuszia’s rug of her daughter’s Cafe in Bath Ontario where they sell fantastic coffee, treats and Kawartha ice-cream(one of theeeee best!) – this is only Danuszia’s second rug and is wonderful…Image 2

Anne’s rug in progress…a pattern by Polly Minick…
Image 1

Anne’s almost finished lion coverlet rug from our Sauder Village class with Barb Carroll…Image 2

 

7 responses »

  1. Lovely pieces. Have a safe journey and wonderful time, Loretta and Gordon…..

    Reply
  2. Wow these are gorgeous. Kudos to the young lady on her second rug. Have a safe journey.

    Reply
  3. I must say where did you inherit such a wonderfully busy but very interesting life? I need a bit of this in mine and a trip to Scotland sounds wonderful. Enjoy and have a safe dry journey.

    Reply
  4. Loretta, Loretta, may I come, pleeeeze?
    Linda on the Rock

    Reply
  5. Oh wow, I’m so envious of your trip to Scotland, and so soon after having a wonderful rug hooking camp with Barb. Life couldn’t be any better. The friends’ hooked rugs are wonderful and that kitty-kat in a basket is cute as the dickens.

    Have fun. Saundra

    Reply
  6. Have a FABULOUS time in Scotland (may be independent soon). It will be raining here but it always rains in Scotland!
    Met Louise and will see her in Ottawa also – she is fun and lovely- cold at Lac Sam cottage experience but great place.
    Hope to meet you soon.
    Travel safe
    ’til soon
    Julie
    Ps – £ is down a bit so good for you as everything is bloody insanely expensive.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
    • Have a wonderful trip. I enjoyed our conversation at Fibre Fest and I am going to make a start on my kit later today. Sorry about not wanting to make hooks.

      Cheers,

      Tom

      Reply

Leave a comment